1st Flight of 2016…. WOOT! WOOT!

1st flight 2016, April 1st

Heart racing, face feeling for wind strength, legs shaking, pull it up… RUN!!!!

That’s how it goes, here at the launch site.. for most newbies like me. It still stops your heart, it still makes you stop and look heavenward to ask God Almighty to keep you safe, and its still the most AMAZING time of your life!

Yesterday I not only had to deal with a new year’s beginning flight; one where you have already stretched your strings, inspected the wing and harness, and emergency parachute, went to the bathroom and chain-smoked three cigarettes…and OK, I’m ready! But one where I also had to deal with the overwhelming fear of crashing again, like I did last year.

I didn’t mention it, because I was ok, only missing about an inch of flesh along the backside of my right leg, compliments of the sticker-bushes and rocks on the way down about 100 feet of mountain… but still a very scary event to have to force myself to overcome. It ended my flying last year, and killed about three months of bliss for me! Where I was injured, my harness seat banged into, so even practicing was halted until I healed up, and by then, it was fall.

None of which stopped me from blasting off the side of Tiger Mountain yesterday, to fly like an eagle once again! God is keeping me safe, I know this every single time I fly, so that is one less fear I have to worry about! I truly trust in God… and last year He was there!!! Right when I needed Him!

It was a gorgeous day, from 60-70 degrees out, with no clouds for thermals, but there were thermals bouncing me all over the place, scaring the bejeezus out of me, and keeping my adrenalin at the maximum level possible!! But it was SO MUCH FUN!!! The winds were just a bit choppy, but they kept me up for an extra ten minutes or so, while I figured out how to maneuver down… slowly… properly…. lol 

My instructor cracks me up, he will be writing a big “L” on my left hand, and an “R” on my right, so when he tells me to go Right, I turn right!!!  We had a difference of opinion when the trees got closer than I felt they needed to be!!  Still it was a great little flight, but the winds picked up and we had to postpone until Sunday.. when hopefully they will be light again and not too Springy! 

SO HAPPY FLYING TO ME….AND ANY OF YOU OUT THERE WILLING TO TRY IT!  You can go Tandem, with an instructor, and just sit there enjoying the view!!! IT’S JUST AMAZING!!!!!!

6 thoughts on “1st Flight of 2016…. WOOT! WOOT!

    • it’s not bravery… it’s pure insanity. I put my life in my own hands each time, and I’m out of shape, old, and really have no idea what I’m doing!!!! I just don’t tell anyone!!! lol seriously, I’m surprised I’m still alive. hehehe but for the Grace of God…. 🙂

  1. This is just way too daring for me. I admire you, though, deeply! Especially seeing what happened last year. But you are having so much fun, by the sounds of it! 🙂

    • I’ve done some crazy stuff in my life, but they pale in comparison. There is just nothing better than soaring around like an eagle!!! it’s more than fun, it’s surreal, time slows… it’s fn amazing!!! 🙂

Comments are closed.