I’m SO proud of him…

brandon in italy on top of stromboli

I miss the days when my son and I were explorers, heading out across miles of countryside, crossing the US twice at least, looking for an adventure like none we’d had before.

We were friends then, close friends, and no one could stop us.  We were all we had, each other, and we were so tight.  He was my little man, who was the man of the house, and at one point, he actually saved my life.  At 4 years old, he knew how and when to call 911.  He’s always been smart like that!

We were pirates on a ferry across the rivers, and soldiers outracing the tanks plowing down the highway in a huge convoy.

Each trucker had to blow his horn, or we lost our ever loving minds slowing down to get their attention, waving like two kids on the front of a train, woo woo…..

We gave up counting birds as we traveled across the deserts of Nevada, after we reached 3.  We counted more tumbleweeds than that racing across the highway after they had apparently jumped the fences.  We stood at the edge of the Grand Canyon in awe, side by side, and screamed out echoes, laughing hysterically when “you suck” came echoing back.

We saw two completely unidentified flying objects, after trying to catch one that evaded us through half of Utah, on a dark night with not another living person in sight.  He tried to sleep through most of it, but I woke him up to join in the hunt after an hour of chasing it.  I knew he wouldn’t want to miss it. 

We were mountaineers in Colorado, living at the highest point in the Us that you can live at, around 13,000 feet.  We had to 4-wheel drive my truck across a rickety bridge just to get home.  This was the year a friendly forester taught him how to rock climb the mountain behind our cabin.  Of course, he didn’t know he was afraid of heights, because my son has always faced his fears head on.  Since his last 2 skydiving trips, and current desire to fly in a squirrel-suit; I think I can safely say he’s conquered that fear.  Now if I can just figure out a way to get him past his fear of spiders… lol

We’ve explored caves together, camped out, climbed numerous mountains, crabbed in the ocean, built many a sand castle, ridden roller-coasters until he puked, never me…of course I blame it on the nutritious blue cotton candy, for the puke was a glorious shade of sky blue. 

My dad taught him how to drive a boat, at age 2 or so, and my brother let him fly his Cessna at age 5.  He’s ridden just about everything you can think of, from horses, to snowmobiles, motorcycles and rails, unicycles, jet ski’s and snowboards like he’s invincible, not to mention he swims like a fish.

He taught me how to rollerblade and skateboard, and I taught him to try everything once, if he could, for life is way too short! 

I smiled deeply a few days ago, when someone said “now I understand why he is so happy, and enjoys every minute of life…he’s just like you!”

I miss those days of closeness: for now I must watch from the sidelines, while he sails up the coast of Italy, scales Mt. Stromboli to camp overnight and watch lava erupt; and cliff dives with out me off the Croatian Archipelago’s islands.  He got to ride a camel to the Pyramids of Egypt, and stopped in Rhome for a few days this year, on his way to another great adventure. 

brandon on DUBI SPLIT boat

And yes, this was one of the yachts he was on, what are the chances of this:  the DuBi Split!  Leave it to him, aka DuBi!  (love that floaty sunburn! haha)

He’s taken my love of adventure to a whole new level, and I am so proud to know that is one of the things I instilled in him.  Of course, he will hate the fact that I just took credit for all that….hahaha, at age 30 he still thinks I had nothing to do with molding his mind and character! 

😉

11 thoughts on “I’m SO proud of him…

  1. I must say that was a great post=) I enjoyed it to the point that i felt the need to read it out loud to my girlfriend during her favorite TV show- (you can imagine how that went down) Lol. I must say I envy the times you guys had when your son was younger, they sound so amazing. Coming from a New York family the only adventure my mother knows is a drive out to New Jersey ( love her to death but she doesn’t get my thirst for adventure=) Your son is a super lucky guy. Thanks for a great read it hit a soft spot. Adventurer for life!!=)

    • thanks so much Joseph! I treasure those times, of course I’m the lucky one, he rarely complained about moving, and we lived in 7 different states during his childhood! those were during the early years, but we moved here when he was 7 or so, to washington, and the whole family realized this is the place to stay! We’ve done many road trips tho, and just love traveling. I love your pic too, love to snorkle, and went on a night dive one time in Hawaii and swam with Manta Rays….freaking phenominal!!! where do you dive???

      • Wow moving 7 times and finding the perfect place to settle sounds wonderful, I m hoping to begin doing that shortly myself as the life in New York City is no longer feeling like the right fit. As for the late night manta ray diving, now that sounds like an adventure that needs to go on my life to do list, and in hawaii non the less def stealing that one, phenominal indeed lol. As for me in that photo I was scuba diving in Nha Troung, Vietnam for the very first time. No license needed just a good attention span and a taste for some adventure. =)

        • oooo, I’m so jealous! I so want to travel the world and would settle for snorkling! I have a panic attack when I’m out too far…sharks and all…hehehe but the snorkling in hawaii was phenominal too…. 🙂

    • well….lol….sometimes. He’s at that age where he’s really learning about what life boils down to, how the world is really run, and he thinks he’s got it all down..and knows so much more than me now that he’s a world travelor…lol I don’t care if he’s proud or not, I know I did my best, and the rest is up to him! 🙂

Comments are closed.