remembering kindness

as a tike it was an armful

of dandelions given to Mom

or dusting without a word

a new version grew

hacking with a hoe

at moles for cranky Grandpa

then learning hard truths

as life struck blinding

barely there as I raised

boys to kinder men

teaching acceptance

for the bullied and shy

reach out just a hair beyond

while I struggled

with me, me, me

survival overwhelming all

but like wine I aged sweeter

as I reach out now

realizing with ease

giving a ride

in the dumping rain

to hold an ancient elbow

or just offer myself

a gift of one minute

shines light through

darkness and thunder

3 thoughts on “remembering kindness

love me some comments.....rock on!

